Apply now for the 2024 Sterling Clarren Award

canfasdblogCanFASD AnnouncementsLeave a Comment

Sterling Clarren Award - Deadline Extended

We are thrilled to announce that applications are now open for this year’s Dr. Sterling Clarren FASD Research Award 

The award is presented each year to a Canadian post-secondary student or early career researcher in recognition of a study that has made a substantial contribution to the FASD field. 

Eligibility criteria 

To be eligible for the Sterling Clarren Award, candidates must meet the following criteria: 

  • Applicants must be a resident of Canada  
  • Applicants must be an early career researcher or a student working in the field of FASD 
  • Research must be complete or near completion  
  • Studies must clearly integrate FASD research, policy, and practice, and demonstrate relevance to the human dimensions of FASD 

How to apply 

If you meet the eligibility criteria, please complete this application form which includes details about your project, why you are applying and a reference from your supervisor, Department Head or key project stakeholder. 

Applications must be submitted by May 14, 2024. You can find more information about the application process on the CanFASD award webpages. 

Evaluation and selection 

Preference will be given to studies that are completed in CanFASD priority areas of prevention, intervention, diagnosis, child welfare, and justice and that are done by researchers in CanFASD member jurisdictions (i.e. British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon).   

The award recipient will have the opportunity to present their research to the CanFASD Network. They will also receive a cash prize and a complimentary one-year individual membership with CanFASD.  Visit our website for a full list of requirements and application details. 

Follow in the footsteps of outstanding researchers 

Past awards have been given to projects focused an array of subject areas including motor coordination assessments in children with FASD, an Innu First Nations evaluation framework for implementing a community-wide FASD prevention strategy and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy for Caregivers. 

The winner of the 2024 award will join a selection of remarkable individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of FASD research, advancing our understanding and improving the lives of people with FASD. 

We look forward to reading about the invaluable efforts being made by the next generation of researchers to drive positive change in the FASD field. 

Leave a Reply