FASD Research and Innovation Award Updates

canfasdblogCanFASD AnnouncementsLeave a Comment

Claudette Bradshaw FASD Innovation Award applications open

Application deadline: February 3, 2021

This award recognizes work of the Honourable Claudette Bradshaw and the many years of service she’s dedicated to the fields of FASD, early education, and homelessness.

It is intended for an individual, agency, or organization that has developed an innovative intervention that has made a substantial contribution to the FASD field in one of CanFASD’s member provinces/territories. We are looking for innovations that focus on transitioning youth with FASD to adult supports; this may include housing, employment, parenting and/or substance use.

The innovative program/project must involve a research or evaluation component in order to demonstrate the effectiveness in improving the lives of individuals with FASD, their families, and communities.

Award recipients will receive a $2000 cash prize, a profile in the CanFASD blog and social media, and, if desired, assistance in preparing a manuscript for publication. Award recipients may be asked to present their innovation at a CanFASD supported conference or online presentation.

Apply now.

Dr. Sterling Clarren FASD Research Award deadline extended

Application deadline (EXTENDED): January 4, 2021

CanFASD is extending the deadline for the Dr. Sterling Clarren FASD Research Award applications. The award is presented annually to a Canadian graduate student or early-career researcher in recognition of a study that has made a substantial contribution to the FASD field.

For this award, preference is given to studies conducted in the CanFASD priority areas of FASD prevention, diagnosis, intervention, child welfare, and justice, in CanFASD member jurisdictions (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon). However, studies conducted in other areas of FASD research (e.g., epidemiology, biomedical, animal studies) and other Canadian jurisdictions will also be considered. All studies must clearly integrate FASD research, policy, and practice, and demonstrate relevance to the human dimensions of FASD.

The Sterling Clarren Research Award recipient will be required to present their research virtually in the Spring of 2021. The recipient will also be awarded a $2000 cash prize. As a condition of the award, recipients will also be required to submit a short plain-language summary of their research findings suitable for a lay audience to be posted on the CanFASD website and social media outlets.

Apply now.

Leave a Reply