Executive Director, Audrey, Joins Alberta Order of Excellence

canfasdblogCanFASD AnnouncementsLeave a Comment

Audrey McFarlane smiles at the camera in front of a black background.

It is with great honour and excitement to share that CanFASD’s Executive Director, Audrey McFarlane has been chosen as a member of the Alberta Order of Excellence in 2023!

Alberta Order of Excellence

Originally created in 1979, this award recognizes Albertans from all fields and backgrounds that have contributed to the province’s place in Canada and around the world. The Alberta Order of Excellence is the highest honour the Province of Alberta can bestow on a citizen.

As Lt.-Gov. Salma Lakhani stated, “These outstanding Albertans have enriched our collective journey through their dedication, innovation and leadership. May their stories inspire us all to build vibrant and compassionate communities.”

Audrey is one of eight Albertans to receive the award this year. Others include former Prime Minster Stephen Harper and financial advisor and television personality Angus Watt.

Congratulations Audrey!

Audrey is currently the Executive Director of CanFASD. She is also one of the founders of the Lakeland Centre for FASD and led that organization for almost 20 years. Audrey is passionate about working with individuals with FASD, their families and service system to develop best practice service models in rural diagnosis, community outreach, and prevention. As our Executive Director, she directs and encourages research in areas of FASD that is meaningful to families, individuals with FASD, policy makers, and service providers.

From everyone at CanFASD, we would like to send a sincere congratulations to Audrey on this outstanding accomplishment! Her inclusion in the Alberta Order of Excellence serves as an inspiration to us all, encouraging us to strive for excellence, compassion, the betterment of our communities. Her dedication and leadership are truly commendable, and we can’t wait to see what the future has in store!

Leave a Reply